Different search engines like google are an effective way to spice up your advertising efforts. Listed here are a few of our high picks price exploring.
The highest 13 search engines like google aside from Google:
From different large names — like Microsoft and Yahoo — to different search platforms focusing on privateness or planting trees, exploring different search engines like google outdoors of Google may significantly profit your advertising efforts.
If you happen to use SEO (SEO) and pay-per-click (PPC) promoting in your advertising technique (and also you do, proper?), you have got a vested curiosity in studying what search engines like google are on the market and the way they work.
In any other case, you may be lacking out on a search engine your viewers is utilizing — and have opponents lapping you in search outcomes.
Right here’s a better take a look at a few of the finest different search engines like google full with knowledgeable insights from HawkSEM CEO Sam Yadegar.
13 search engines like google aside from Google to contemplate
1. Bing
In the case of market share, Bing sits proudly in second place.
In line with Yadegar, we must always all be paying nearer consideration to Bing because it started incorporating AI into its search capabilities.
Listed here are some key stats about Bing it is advisable know:
- The variety of month-to-month guests on Bing is over 500 million.
- The biggest age group on Bing is 25-34, making up 29.22% of users.
- 34% of Microsoft Search Community customers (which incorporates Bing) have graduated faculty.
- 36% of Microsoft Search Community customers have a family earnings within the high 25%.
In the case of paid promoting, adverts on Bing have their very own distinctive benefits.
If you use them, you’re placing your adverts out on the Microsoft Community (Bing, Yahoo, AOL, in addition to Home windows and Xbox customers). Plus, the CPC on Bing is decrease than on Google, and in sure industries, the distinction is important.
For instance, within the authorized sector, Bing adverts have a median CPC of $1.42, whereas Google is over 4 instances as a lot at $6.75.
2. DuckDuckGo
DuckDuckGo is in style amongst customers who’re involved about privateness. It positions itself as a search engine that doesn’t observe issues like IP or search phrases, nor personalize search outcomes.
With almost 2% of the search market share within the U.S. as of 2023, DuckDuckGo has seen a gradual improve in reputation, which could possibly be attributed to the rise in folks’s concern about their private knowledge and privateness.
In the present day, round 80 million folks use DuckDuckGo globally, with a every day common of about 97 million searches. Whereas the attain of DuckDuckGo is narrower than that of Google or Bing, the variety of customers is rising.
Professional tip: You’ll be able to set DuckDuckGo as your default search engine on iOS.
3. Yandex
If part of your audience is positioned in Russia, you need to pay particular consideration to Yandex. On this nation, Yandex is the main search engine, taking 63.8% of complete consumer visits, with Google claiming the #2 spot.
When utilizing Yandex for promoting, it’s a good suggestion to familiarize your self with Russian internet privateness legal guidelines. (Normal Knowledge Safety Regulation, or GDPR, isn’t lively in Russia.)
Whereas the worldwide market share of Yandex is simply 1.63%, it’s one of many high 4 search engines like google on this planet and could be a wonderful funding for companies that function in Russia.
4. Baidu
If your small business works with a Chinese language viewers or you have got some stellar non-English content material to share, you’ll need to pay particular consideration to Baidu.
Since Google is blocked in mainland China, Baidu holds the highest spot as the most well-liked search engine, accounting for an incredible 94% of the market share.
Promoting on Baidu could be difficult since Chinese language legal guidelines are strict about promoting. To start out utilizing Baidu Adverts, it is advisable present a big quantity of paperwork.
When promoting on this search engine, you additionally must work with an area supervisor who makes positive that you just aren’t advertising something that may be thought of “delicate,” in line with Chinese language legal guidelines.
5. Kagi
Kagi is somewhat completely different from the opposite search engines like google on this record. Sometimes, search engines like google are free. They’ll supply their companies and not using a price as a result of they accumulate knowledge and promote.
Kagi runs with a subscription mannequin — which implies promoting isn’t an possibility.
Nevertheless, you may nonetheless attempt to rank organically on this distinctive platform.
We’ve seen how subscription fashions like Netflix took off as a result of some customers discover the pricing price it so as to keep away from adverts. This sort of consumer expertise for search engines like google may doubtlessly develop in reputation, and we expect it’s definitely worth the time to be taught extra concerning the platform.
6. Ecosia
Regardless of your audience, there’s doubtless a good portion that cares about sustainability. For manufacturers seeking to join with an environmentally aware viewers, take a while to dig into Ecosia.
This search engine guarantees customers to spend the cash it earns by means of promoting on planting bushes. And with virtually 70% of Americans in favor of the US taking steps to change into carbon impartial by 2050, chances are high a few of your viewers might overlap.
Ecosia reports that it has greater than 20 million lively customers, and its world market share is 0.11%. This search engine is very in style amongst Germans, the place the corporate relies, and there’s a robust tradition of caring concerning the setting.
With environmental issues rising steadily, Ecosia’s reputation is prone to develop as nicely. And since promoting on this search engine is inexpensive than on Google, spending a few of your advertising funds there might make sense.
Ecosia’s search outcomes and adverts are powered by Microsoft’s Bing internet crawlers. Nevertheless, the search engine says that it enhances adverts with its personal algorithms.
7. Swisscows
Similar to DuckDuckGo, Swisscows is a privacy-focused search engine. Since launching in 2014, it claims to not retailer any knowledge, positioning itself as a non-public different to Google. It additionally claims to be “family-friendly” by not surfacing outcomes that could possibly be deemed specific.
Nearly all of site visitors to Swisscows comes from searchers in Switzerland. Nevertheless, greater than 25% of its guests come from the U.S.
The search engine will get about 9 million customers month-to-month and works with Bing for promoting.
8. Courageous
Courageous Search is a search engine developed by Courageous Software program and is the default search engine for Courageous internet browser customers in some nations.
Presently, its search market share shouldn’t be listed as its search engine is a comparatively new addition to its browser.
Nevertheless, it’s nonetheless a community to contemplate promoting on, because the Courageous browser has grown quickly in recent times. Actually, as of March 2024, it had 73 million monthly users, which isn’t any small quantity.
Some of the notable issues about Courageous Search is that it makes use of its personal index of the online.
Many different small search engines like google, comparable to DuckDuckGo and Ecosia, use bigger engines like Google or Bing to create their search outcomes.
Because the consumer base of Courageous’s browser grows, it’s doubtless that its search consumer base will, too, so now could possibly be the good time to get forward of your competitors and begin promoting there.
9. Mojeek
Like Courageous, Mojeek is a search engine with its personal search index.
For customers, this implies it delivers unbiased outcomes and is great for analysis. However, however, it could possibly additionally imply there could also be restricted outcomes and hamper analysis because it doesn’t pull outcomes from search engines like google comparable to Google.
Nearly half of Mojeek’s user base is positioned in the US. However it’s additionally in style within the U.Okay., France, and China, with every making up round 6% of its consumer base.
It additionally has a predominantly male consumer base. Nearly three-quarters (72%) are male. That is price paying attention to as a lot of the different search engines like google on this record have a extra even cut up between female and male customers.
10. Gibiru
Gibiru touts itself as an “uncensored” non-public search engine. They don’t use monitoring cookies or log your IP deal with. It has Firefox and Chrome browser extensions in addition to Apple and Android cellular apps. They’ve been defending their customers’ knowledge since 2009.
Whereas Gibiru doesn’t supply an advert platform, you’ll nonetheless need to be sure your SEO (website positioning) is correctly optimized so that you rank within the search outcomes. Whereas they do hold the specifics of their rating algorithm near the vest, it wouldn’t harm to make use of related methods to these you employ for Google and Bing.
As an illustration, it might seem that knowledge-based hyperlinks like these from Wikipedia may have a constructive impact on rating on this platform.
11. Searx
Searx is an open-source metasearch engine. They don’t share their customers’ search historical past or IP addresses. This engine offers a special kind of search expertise from most of these we’ve listed up to now. Fairly than offering its personal outcomes, Searx compiles its search outcomes from a mixture of different search suppliers.
They don’t supply advert placement proper now, however who is aware of what the longer term holds?
12. WolframAlpha
WolframAlpha solutions search queries by calculating the solutions. It’s a computational search engine, which means it does the maths for you. It’s accessible as an app on Google Play and the App Retailer and on desktop.
Regardless that it doesn’t reply typical qualitative questions like Google Search outcomes, WolframAlpha offers advertising. Speak about catering to a distinct segment market!
13. Startpage
Startpage is one more search engine that prides itself on defending its customers’ privateness. They don’t use trackers or hold observe customers’ looking historical past. You’ll be able to relaxation assured your knowledge is protected. If you happen to nonetheless need to use Google, you may by putting in a Startpage Chrome extension.
Why you need to care about search engines like google aside from Google
Google is the bona fide boss of the search market, with greater than 85% of the market share as of 2023. However there are another vital gamers taking on that different 15%.
Past extending the attain of your advertising marketing campaign, it’s smart to optimize for different search engines like google for these causes:
#1. Whereas at the moment dominant, Google’s market share is steadily declining. This regular and sluggish decline signifies that web customers are beginning to discover different search choices. So now’s the time in your advertising crew to take observe and begin planning content material targeted on these different search engines like google.
#2. Many corporations ignore all search engines like google aside from Google, which supplies you the chance to succeed in sure audiences quicker.
#3. Paid promoting can be usually inexpensive on different search engines like google. For instance, the typical cost-per-click (CPC) for Bing Adverts is $1.42, whereas Google Adverts’ common CPC is $2.69. That’s fairly a distinction, huh?
Certain, Google ought to nonetheless in all probability proceed to get nearly all of your time and a focus for advertising functions. However experimenting with Google alternate options might carry you shocking outcomes and permit you to be taught and perceive these algorithms earlier than they begin taking on a much bigger share of the market.
Let’s check out some search engines like google aside from Google which you can begin exploring in your advertising technique.
Social media networks as search engines like google
Do you know that social networks like Fb, LinkedIn, and TikTok have superior search choices? Many individuals use social networks for quite a lot of info, comparable to opinions, hours of operation, menus, appointment scheduling, and instructions.
We’ve coated a whole lot of platforms right here, so you might be questioning which upcoming platforms you need to take a look at. Whereas your first thought may be to keep watch over extra conventional search engines like google, our CEO suggests social media needs to be in your radar as an alternative.
“When it comes to upcoming search engines like google,” says Yadegar. “Video search on TikTok needs to be on our radar.”
It’s protected to say social media search networks are trending upward. Actually, about 31% of customers are turning to social media platforms like Instagram, TikTok, and even discussion board websites like Reddit or Quora to ask their questions. As these search algorithms get extra subtle, it’s price maintaining them in thoughts.
The takeaway
There’s no denying Google’s energy in relation to on-line search.
Nevertheless, there are a whole lot of search engines like google aside from Google rising in reputation.
Yadegar suggests maintaining our search engine choices open outdoors of simply Google so as to entry quite a lot of “various opinions and search outcomes, completely different content material uploaded to completely different platforms give customers a extra holistic view on issues.”
By focusing your consideration on different search engines like google, you’re additionally widening your attain and doubtlessly rising conversions, visits to your internet pages, and your advertising ROI.